Things to Avoid When Writing Your Social Media Captions

Plus tips on engagement for your social media profiles

Manisha Dhalani
2 min readJun 7, 2024

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

Are your social media captions not resulting in healthy engagement?

One of the things that always gives me more value when I engage with other posts is their caption.

If I understand the story well, I am more enticed to reply.

Or if I’m shy or tired, I’ll definitely give them a like for effort.

Or if the post is super valuable, then I’ll save it and reflect on it later.

I’m sure you’ve done these, too.

But as a business owner, have you concentrated on what you’re writing on your captions?

Or are you just posting one liners (not that this isn’t wrong)? Are you giving your customers YOUR TRUE STORY or are you loading them up with jargon, corporate speak, promotional stuff and nothing authentic?

Could it be a time to give your captions another glance?

Here are some things you might want to pay attention to when it comes to writing captions:

Tip #1

❎ Don’t write complicated words like jargon and corporate speak.

--

--

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations. www.manishadhalani.com